The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation that reducing the number of mopeds in Balmer Island would have a direct positive effect on the number of pedestrian moped accidents during the summer is based on number of unwarranted assumptions. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the recommendation highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true the recommendation would totally fall apart.

The argument assumes that what proved to be true for Seaville town will certainly be true for Balmer Island. Further, it assumes that Seaville population is the same as that of Balmer island and that ratio of pedestrian to moped is also the same. It is quite likely that the pedestrian moped ratio is quite high already as compared to that of Balmer Island and that further enforcing limitation on moped rentals lead Seaville’s town to the desired results. Thus, unless the argument provides us sufficient information regarding the similarity between Seaville Island and Balmer Island, it is hard to conclude that Balmer Island would achieve the results that the neighboring Island of Seaville achieved.

Further, the argument assumes that things would not drastically change this year as compared to last year. The premise in support to achieve the desired result is based upon the assumption that what last year’s trend would follow. It is possible that, this year the Island might receive a higher or lower number of pedestrians visiting the Island due to several possible reasons such as weather conditions, economy etc. Thus, unless the we know for sure that the trend would continue it is hard to take the recommendation on face value.

Third, the recommendation is based on an assumption that reducing the number of rental moped does not affect the overall number of moped on the Island. For example, it does not provide any information weather pedestrians can buy a moped or simply ship it across the island for use. Also, it is possible that the number of accidents caused were because of the residents on the Balmer Island who own a moped. In that case, reducing the number of rental mopeds would not lead to a reduction in the accidents. Thus, unless the argument provides further details on the total number of mopeds in the Island, the recommendation is flawed.