The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Batavia newspaper recommend to regulate the milk prices considering that farmers are receiving higher profits. But their conclusion is supported on no proper research. Or else if few questions are answered truthfully, then the conclusion of regulating the milk prices would be recommendable.

Firstly, what are the sources and how much increase is supply of milk has happened? So, the increase in milk supply is not mentioned and it may be possible that in those 10 years, farmers may have experienced decrease in the milk supply. Thus, to match the demand and need of the country, farmers would have increased the rates of milk. Another way possible is as the dairy farm market has increased, there is a possibility that few farmers would contaminate the milk and sold it in less price. However, to maintain the quality and reputation, good traders would have to increase the milk price. If either case results in true then the writer’s conclusion does not hold any point as there would be no excessive profits for farmers. Thus, there would be no necessary regulation.

Secondly, at what price does Excello food market buy milk from the farmers? There is no research done at what price the Food market buys the milk and what is their share in the profit. It might be possible that farmers would be selling the milk at the nominal rate only, but the food market to increase their profit return would be increasing the milk rate and sell it at higher rates. Thus, if this argument holds some truthfulness then the government should first cross check the prices with farmers and food market and then ensure fair prices.

Lastly, Isn’t the research data of comparing a matter with 10 years gap period to vague? Or else they should have also seen the general economic changes that have happened in those last 10 years. Thus, if the general economy of the country has increased in past 10 years. There would have been also increase in the price rates of milk. This might be scene that farmers would have been selling the milk at same profit rate. And just because of the national economy growth, the price rates are increased after 10 years. And as experience suggests that this could be true. Thus, leading no space for the newspaper to claim this regulation.

In conclusion. If all the above stated questions hold any place and results in true then the newspaper claim would be not to rely on. The newspapers would need to research to the core of the problems. They should try to answer those questions and then suggest the conclusion of regulating the milk price. They should not also claim that farmers are having excess profits without any supportable proof.