The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above stated letter to the editor , it is stated that dairy farms in last ten years have been inreased by 25% and the price of milk has also increased in this period finally providing excessive profit to the farmers.Hence inorder to ensure fair price to the consumer the writer claims that it is better to have regulations enacted for the retail milk price by the Batavia government.The writer has come to the conclusions by the data he presents that shows increase in dairy farms and increase in milk price.However, before this recommendations can be properly addressed,three questions must be answered.

Firstly,is the increase in dairy farms means increase in supply of milk? it is possible that due to better scope in dairy many youths might have attracted to this field without any research and they might br producing milk which is superflous than the demand. The writer is talking about the whole country incase of dairy farms increase and he/she is considering local market for the price.For instance, it might be the case in other parts that supply is over than the demand and the price might have decreased in this region.Hence, famers in this region might have been in loss .

Secondly,does that price increase in local excello food market applicable to the whole country?it is possible that the price might have inreased only in this local market because of the limited supply in this area or might be due to the high quality milk produced in this area .The claim of increase in price is only limited to this area and the overall nationwide research must be done before coming to this recommendation.

Thirdly,Does the increase in farms means increase in profit? it is possible that over this ten yesrs period the ration that the farmers feeding to the dairy cows might have increased drastically ,finally increasing the price of the milk and decreasing the net profit.Therefore, otrhers factors affecting the price of milk should be considered .only the increase price cannot determine whether the farmer is having excessive profit or not.

Therefore, argument,as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its lack of research and unwarranted assumptions.If the auther is able to answer these above mantioned questions answers and do extensive overal research then only it will be viable to reach to the recommendation of fixing retail price of milk.