The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.“Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Centr

In a recent letter from the store owner of Central Plaza, it is concluded that skateboarding should be bane in the store, because the owners consider this practice as the main reason for their visitor declining. However, for reaching to this conclusion, the owner present a number of unsupported assumptions, most notably that skates players are related to the increasing on insecurity in the Central Mall surroundings, which directly affects their number of final visitors. Thus, more research and evidence is required before making any decision about the participation of this social groups on this particular place.

As noted above, the owner is making an assumption when he blames the number of skateboarders in Central Plaza, as the main problem for the decreasing of visitor. However, this argument is putting aside a bigger problematic which is why all these young people are not at school or maybe at their work place. The author is omitting other variables such as the economic situation of the city, which can directly affect the consumer consumptions on central malls, an also increase the number of unemployed people, which includes juveniles who may not find a job or maybe get into a school or university.

To strengthen this argument, the owner should investigate further how is the economic and social situation in the city to truly understand from where this decreasing of visitors is coming from.

In addition, the owner does not explore further other factors when he stablishes that the insecurity has increased in the surroundings of Plaza Central, blaming directly the skateboarders. Nonetheless, assuming this is also an irresponsible conclusion, if the owner has not analysed the city situation. As mention before, economic problems might be a strong cause to increase the insecurity index, and for sure, this places can be the new focus for people going through an economic crisis. At this point, the author should execute a deeper research about what kind of vandalism is appearing in Central Plaza. The owner should look for demographic statistics of the vandals that has been caught by the police, in order to understand if they actually belong to the stakeboard community, otherwise, he must reconsider the decision of bane these groups who may not be the real problematic to the Cental Mall.

As discussed above, the argument that skateboars are the main responsible of the decreasing of visitor to Central Plaza is based on a number of uninformed assumptions. On this way, further information should be analysed in order to understand the real problematic that central mall is going through. Until the owner do not based his decision in real data, this conclusion cannot be considered as certain.