The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

In a recent investigation, it was concluded that birth order may affect individual's level of stimulation. In reaching this conclusion however, the author makes a number of unsupported assumptions, most notably that birth other is the main issue to understand the variation on individual's stimulation, putting aside that fact that perhaps more that the order, the mother gestation moment could be the more preponderant fact. Therefore, the author should conduct more research to better support this conclusion.

As noted above, the author mention evidence on monkeys, where the first infant produce up twice as much of the hormone cortisol, than their younger siblings. However, this argument is not clear about the mother situation when giving birth, an issue that might have a huge impact on the development of the monkey. For example, for been a first- time mother, the levels of anxiety and stress under this unknown situation may induce the fetus to be born with these levels of hormones. To strengthen this argument, the author should conduct an experiment where a child's number of hormones can be measured for a mother with high levels of stress with more than one child, in order to evaluate the fact that mother corporal and mental situation do not affect the fetos, more that the order or giving birth.

In addition, the author does no explore further other factors he mentions such as it is clear that firs-time mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol, that the more experimented ones. However, assuming that because of the firs-time condition the cortisol level is higher, is like omitting other situation than can increase mother cortisol levels such as been under threat in the jungle, or be in a season of penury, where mother can also be pregnant and increasing the child's cortisol level, without being her first son. At this point, the author should compare cortisol level on childs who were conceived under extreme situation, versus, other ones who were born in a natural moment, in order to understand the real impact of mothers in the hormone in newborns.

As discussed above, the argument that birth order can in some way affect the individuals’ level of stimulation, is based on a number of assumptions, and more concrete evidence is needed to understand the real problem about level of stimulation, rather than giving the whole responsibility to birth order. Until more information is considerate, the author cannot assure this conclusion.