The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument given brings out the fact that the business in Central Plaza are decreasing due to increasing of skateboarding in the Plaza. While this argument seems convincing on first glance, there are significant underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

The author’s first mistake is to assume that the skateboarding is the outcome of the decrease of the business. There may be many other facts which contribute to decreasing of the business. Other stores may have been arising during the years near the Plaza. The prices of the goods in other stores may be lower than in Central Plaza. People are moving out of the place.

I am still finishing the argument. But, am I going in the right way?

I am still going to set comments about litter and vandalism in Central Plaza and I am going to write a small conclusion making suggestions to strength the argument.