The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A Central Plaza store owner argues that his business has steadily declined over the past two years due to the increased popularity of skateboarding. The argument is not a solid one as the store owner makes several assumptions that requires further scrutiny. Furthermore, without additional evidence, his recommendation to the city for the prohibition of skateboarding may not bring the results favorable to the store owner.

The store owner assumes that consumers of skateboarding and shoppers of Central Plaza overlap in terms of their consumer profile. For instance, the owner assumes that most of his consumers have become interested in skateboarding over the past two years. However, his argument does not specify a typical consumer profile of the shoppers prior to the rise of skateboarding. Without this information, one cannot conclude that skateboarding has caused the decrease in the Central Plaza’s business. For instance, a typical age range of the plaza’s shoppers may have been from age of 10 to 80 whereas a typical age range of skateboarders is between age 10 and 30. If the populations do not overlap, it does not make sense to conclude that skateboarding has taken away the Central Plaza shoppers.

The store owner also believes that skateboarders have caused a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza. There is not enough evidence that the litter and vandalism were the act of skateboarders. It could be the case that those who ruined the Central Plaza’s shopping experience were in fact the very shoppers whom the owner is trying to win back. Moreover, it could simply be a coincidence that the two events occurred at the same time. Therefore, owner must provide conclusive evidence that skateboarders caused the increase in litter and vandalism.

These were some of many unanswered questions that the store owners must address in order to bolster his recommendation to the city. It could be the case that skateboarders are not the same people who used to shop at Central Plaza. Furthermore, the store owner may be making a critical mistake in assuming that skateboarders have caused the litter and vandalism in the shopping area. Without clarifying these assumptions, his recommendation, as it stands currently, may not restore the number of shoppers back to the level where it was prior to the increased popularity of skateboarders.