The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A homeowner tells his friend to entrust Adams Realty, rather than Fitch Realty, with his real estate business. He recommends the firm for it has more agents, higher sales revenue, and faster rate of selling houses than Fitch Realty. Although these reasons may be enough for his friend to prefer Adams to Fitch, they are based on assumptions that need further scrutiny. Without it, there is a high probability that entrusting Adams Realty may not be an ideal advice for the friend.

The homeowner argues that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty because the firm employed more agents. The underlying assumption here is that the more agents a firm employed, the better the firm is able to handle the home sales. However, the assumption is not always a valid one. It is possible that the 40 real estate agents at Adams Realty are relatively inexperienced and incompetent than the 25 agents at Fitch Realty. If so, the homeowner cannot recommend Adams Realty to his friend based on the number of agents in the firm. Additionally, he did not specify how many of the 40 Adams Realty agents are full-time. It is probable that 39 of those agents are part-time, which is more than the half of agents at Fitch Realty.

The homeowner further argues that Adams Realty is superior because it averaged more revenue last year than Fitch Realty. The average revenue alone cannot be used as an index to determine which firm is superior because the revenue distribution could be largely skewed. For example, Adams Realty has a higher average revenue than Fitch Realty because the firm sold many homes at a low price and one home at a ridiculously high price. In contrast, Fitch Realty could have sold most homes around the average amount indicated in the argument, which, in fact, might be more favorable to his friend.

The homeowner mentions how fast Adams Realty can sell a home as an indicator for its superiority over Fitch Realty. However, in his argument, he assumes that his experience of selling home with Adams Realty still holds up after a decade. The real estate market could have changed. There is no guarantee that Adams Realty would still sell a home faster than Fitch Realty.

In his argument, the homeowner assumes that the superiority of a real estate firm is determined by the number of agents, the average revenue, and the rate of selling home ten years ago. Upon further examination of these unstated assumptions, his friend should not take the homeowner’s recommendation so easily.