The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is about the complaint from some commuters on Blue highway about the traffic which has doubled their commuting time. There are two proposals which have been presented to reduce traffic. The first one is to widen the Blue highway by adding a lane of traffic which was not a successful project for the Green highway. The second one is to add a bicycle lane to the Blue highway. The reason is that the majority of residents in near areas like cycling. In this essay, two proposals will be checked accurately.

On the one hand, the first proposal is to widen the highway, and the author has pointed out that widening the highway is not a practical way because it has been run on Green highway and the traffic has become worse. If we consider that the two highways have the same conditions this hypothesis can be true, but if two highways have different conditions, we can not say accurately this way does not work. Without enough information and evidence, we can not say exactly whether this offer can be practical or not.

On the other hand, in the second proposal adding a bicycle lane is offered. For this offer, at first, the amount of people’s interest should be checked. We have to know whether they like cycling or not. Do they really like cycling? Do they really accept to use bicycles rather than other types of transports? How many people tend to use a bicycle? Has this work enough safety for people? We have to consider that even though people accept to use the bicycle does not mean that they accept to ride bicycle long distances. In addition to this, people who want to ride the bicycle should be well trained.

In this argument, for reducing the traffic, only the change of highway has been offered. But we have to see whether the problem is only physically and is related to the shape of the highway. Has the highway other types of problems, including illegal speed and traffic accidents? We also have to consider other fundamental problems on the highways. If the highway has other problems, with adding a lane, the problem will not be solved. So, the proposal related to this subject will not be practical.