Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase

The traffic jams are the daily part of our lifes. There are many ways how the traffic can be improved, however, as in medicine, each specific traffic problem needs specific prescribtion in order to cure it. Is the argument stated prone to flaws and is there any evidence we might use in order to improve it?

Specific assumptions of the stated argument would need to be analysed in order to evaluate its coherency. First of all, the argument do compare the situation on the nearby Green Highway with the one of the blue highway and according to the former example trying to discourage to add other additional line to the highway. However, there is no single explanation, according to which criteria, these two highways can be compared together. In case of the Green Highway, there might be a huge construction taking place which adding more drivers on the highway, even more than one additional line can accomodate. They could add another line on Green Highway, however, new factory built nearby saturated the highway by heavy machinery and trucks, which subsequently worsened the traffic, even after the line was added. There need to be the reason specified, why the added line on Green Highway affected negatively the traffic and why it is the case, that the highway is comparable to the the Blue Highway.

The argument mentioned, that the best alternative is to add bicycle line to the highway, because of many of the resident are riders. However, having many residents riding bike does not necessarily mean, that the line added would be succesfull. First of all, residents might use the highway primarily to get to the daily job, and the job can be far away in the center, as well as the highway itself, may be large. That means, that even when residents enjoy bike rides, they could not use bikes to get where they want. By knowing, where exaclty resident go when they use the highway might be the one of the most important factors of considering if bike use is viable.

Being more scrupulous, even the fact mentioned, that many residents are keen bicyclists can be misleading. How is this specific information obtained ? Was it obtained by the unbiased questionary by asking all the groups of residents ? Was the question in the questionary asking about the favourite sport of residents or directly if they prefer to use bike instead of car if possible ? The answers on all stated question could subsequently strenghten or weaken the argument. Residents might enjoy bike ride as a sport, but prefer to use car, or even public transport in order to get to their job. This question might been asked only one part of the neighborhood close to sport center, which was prone to use bike as part of their healthy lifestyle. The information might be only deduction of some kind, not even based on an evidence. It would be important to find out.

The argument stated is flawed, as it missed many important details necessary in order to analyse it properly. All of these details can weaken or streghten the argument dramatically.