The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

In the letter to the editor of the Parson City's local newspaper, the conclusion is stated that the people living in the Parson city ensure a high value in providing good education in public schools than the Blue city residents. The author provides several reasons to base the conclusion that, firstly, Parson City has recently spent twice as much money per year as Blue City has for its public schools - even though both the cities have the same number of residents, secondly, most of the money spent on the city schools come from taxes that the government collects from each city. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, might dramatically attenuate the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, a few questions must be answered.

First of all, are both cities comparable? In other words, do both the cities located in the same area, or do both the cities cites similar living standards? It might be possible, that both the cities are situated quite apart. While the Parson city might be located in a high-standard or posh area, the Blue city might be located in a bucolic place. If this is the case, then both the cities would differ in the quality of the people living in them. Thus, the people living in the Parson city would be of high class that could afford higher tax rates. However, the Blue city people could not. Further, if this scenario would have been cited by the author and could be represented systematically with proper pieces of evidence, then it would be plausible for the readers to believe it blindly.

Secondly, are the tax rates homogenous for both cities? The author suggests that both the cities have the same population, even though he asserts the reasons that the Parson city has spent twice as much money as the Blue city. If this is true, then the tax rates for both cities should have been the same. However, this assumption does not hold any solid grounds. Maybe, the tax rate for Parson city is double as compared to Blue city, due to which the Parson city accumulates a higher amount than Blue city. Therefore, the amount collected by the government is higher which further contributes to the public schools. The author overlooked the reason behind this and elicited that Parson city places a higher value.

Moreover, it could be possible that there are other sources of collecting revenue for the public schools. It could be possible that, as the Parson city is located in a high-class area, every individual must be extra careful in keeping the city clean. If the Parson city people are reckless and unscrupulous in terms of cleanliness, then they would be littering and causing vandalism for which they could be fined a higher price. Thus, this serves as an extra income from the government which could further contribute to the public schools. However, the author fails to evince this reason which makes the conclusion baseless.

A careful analysis presents the loopholes in the argument. The letter to the editor does not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of providing the Parson city residents a high place and undermining the value of the Blue city residents because all the reasons provided by the author are skeptical. Therefore, the author must rethink and provide a foolproof and logical solution.