College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Selecting a college major is one of the vital tasks that help students to shape and direct their career paths. Opting for a relevant course is important for students to direct themselves on the right path. Not thinking properly at the time of selection, would diverge their career path in a direction where students might get bored or frustrated. Therefore, I believe the choices of the field of study in the college should be made with scrutiny and not simply thinking about the current job scenario.

One doesn't have to think a lot while selecting the subjects in the school, while in the college, on the other hand, it's vital to select the courses of one's liking. Otherwise, if the student selects the wrong course, would have to cope up with the subject's complications. In doing so, the student would not be able to score better grades and thus will result in an incompetent job. A student, for instance, has a penchant for computer science and technologies, if selects a course related to history or anything irrelevant to his likings - which has good job opportunities in the present time, would have to face difficulties in learning the subject because that subject will appear trite and boring. Moreover, the student needs to score good marks to be placed in a better job. However, the student won't be able to get good marks because of his interests.

In addition to this, the students who opt for the subjects committed to better job opportunities instead of keeping their interests aside will not be able to contribute any innovative and ingenious ideas to their field of study. For instance, if Lata Mangeshkar - a renowned Indian singer, would have chosen for studying then she wouldn't have contributed to the world with several famous songs. Because she opted for what she likes, she was able to perceive it consummately and was able to think differently than others. Henceforth, the students should decide their subjects by considering all the factors and thinking sagaciously.

To sum, according to the aforementioned points, it's cogent to select the college major according to your likings and interests rather than considering the current availability of the jobs, otherwise, it raises frustrations and feelings of incompetency in the students.