The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As a parent, I would rightfully be concerned if i read that one city was spending more money on childrens’ education than another. However, the limited amount of information we have in this letter does not allow for a significant argument against Blue City residents.

To start off, although the author of the letter talks about how the two cities are spending tax money, the letter is ultimately aimed at the residents of the cities. This in itself is flawed and invalidates the argument. If the cities are in charge of the tax money and where it is allocated, the residents do not necessarily have a say in their spending. Thus, it is fruitless to put the blame on the residents of the cities rather than the city’s’ governments themselves.

Although the author of the letter tells the reader that Parson City spent almost double the amount that Blue City did on public schools, they do not give them any information on what the money was used for. If the money was used for extra programs for children or private tutoring services, then it would further help the author’s argument. However, if it was used for something like the maintenance of their buildings’ infrastructure, or a pay raise for teachers, this information would significantly invalidate the argument, for these are necessary and useful for the schools.

The letter also claims that Parson City, “recently spent almost twice as much per year”. Using the word “recently” before the phrase “per year” makes one question the validity of the data presented. Saying “per year” implies that the data is a meta analysis of at least a couple of years. However, saying “recently” makes the amount of time a little hazy. Knowing the exact time frame of when the money was spent would make the argument stronger. If it had been 5 years consistently that Parson City had spent more money on their schools, this would be a significant amount of time for the city to be spending so much more money than Blue City. If it were one year, it may not be as valid.

Evidence that may significantly affect the validity of the argument presented would be if there was a difference in grades standardized test scores between the two city’s schools. If Parson City students did significantly better in terms of their test scores than Blue City, then the money must have some significance on the quality of their education, making the author’s argument stronger.

In conclusion, this argument lacks a lot of context information that could make or break their argument, including where the money is being allocated in each city, and the exact time frame of the data presented.