The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The luxuries of contemporary life do not prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals, but rather open up more options for them to be independent than there were available to them before these modern conveniences.

The many conveniences we possess in this day and age makes our lives much easier, which can be viewed synonymously with laziness. For example, one may argue that people nowadays have their heads in their phones at all times, looking like unsocial zombies. However, our phones allow us to interact with each other in a more complex way. We have the entire internet in the palm of our hands, and we have access to new information at the tap of a fingertip. There is no need for digging through encyclopedias for hours to find the answer to a simple question. This feature allows us to expand our horizons faster and more easily than ever before. We are able to expose ourselves to new and broader point of views and interact with other minds, different and alike. We are also able to share our own views to the masses at any given time. Thus, these conveniences further facilitate our individual thinking and allow us to be social beings in a different manner.

Not only do the many luxuries we have help us to broaden our horizons, but they also save us a plethora of time. Even just a few years ago, we would spend unnecessary amounts of our precious time on little things, such as trying to map out our destinations before a trip, or cleaning our livings rooms. Now we have the gps that takes us straight to our destination, and rumbas that clean our floors without us having to exert any energy, allowing us to allott this extra time we gain to other more important things, like learning.

Rather than prevent individuality, I would argue that the conveniences we now have actually allow us to become even more creative. For example, in the world of art, the many new technologies of the modern age allow artists to branch out like never before. Digital media, music, photography, and film all benefit from technology, not only making it easier to create certain forms of art, but also providing new challenges. How do we make new noises and feelings for songs? How do we make more realistic animations? Years ago, people thought that what we had at the time was all we would ever have. Now, with the software and coding that have been developed, there is an endless amount of possibilities for us to explore.

In conclusion, although it may seem like the luxuries we have in contemporary life make our lives easier, these luxuries allow us to take our focus off the things in life that don’t require as much attention, such as cleaning and reaching our destinations, and shift this time and mental energy to new possibilities, thus facilitating our creativity and individuality.