The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

According to the letter received by the president of Seatown University, a study conducted at a nearby university showed that faculty retention was higher when professors were offered free tuition at the university for their college-going children. As a result, the faculty committee believes that Seatown University should implement a similar policy. While this policy may indeed be beneficial for Seatown University, the faculty committee's argument is lacking some information that could either bolster or work against it. We would require some numeric data that could bolster the claim, information about how comparable the two universities are, and details about the specifics of the study.

As aforementioned, a major piece of required information is numeric data. Numbers and proportions always enhance the credibility of an argument and would help us see whether the increase in retention rate after the implementation of the policy at Oceania University was sufficient to deem the policy successful. If data shows that only a few more faculty members out of hundreds of faculty members decided to stay as a result of the free tuition policy, then proportion wise, the policy did not actually have a huge effect. However, if data shows that the retention rate increased by 50% after the implementation of this policy, the supposed causal effect between retention rate and free tuition would become more credible. After all, correlation does not always imply causation. Having numeric data would help better determine a potential causal effect within the study.

Another piece of evidence that we would require is with regard to the similarities between Oceania University and Seatown University. How comparable are these two universities? If Oceania University was home to multiple professors with college-aged children, then the success of the study would make sense. Similarly, if Seatown University houses multiple professors with college-aged children, then perhaps the policy would be equally useful to them in enhancing faculty morale. However, if Seatown University has many young professors with young children, then the effects of this policy could be negligible. The effects of the free tuition policy could go either way depending on how similar or dissimilar the two universities are. Just because Oceania University is "nearby" to Seatown University does not imply that they are run in the same way. An additional factor to consider is the fact that Seatown University might not have as much funding as Oceania University in order to successfully implement such a policy. Providing free tuition might end up cutting out of other benefits that professors receive, in turn actually reducing faculty morale.

A final piece of information that would help evaluate the credibility of this argument involves knowing the details of the study that has been quoted. We currently do not know anything about the study except for where it was conducted. How long ago was the study conducted? What method was used? It would be useful to know when the study was conducted because if it turns out that it was conducted 20 years ago, it might not be applicable today; universities are bound to change over time. The method used in the study is also pertinent because it could make or break the credibility of the argument. If the method used was not suitable for this type of study, then the results could be flawed.

In sum, the argument that we see in the letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University may very well be strong and accurate. The problem is that it becomes difficult to evaluate its strength given the number of missing yet necessary details. The provision of numeric data, statistics about how comparable the two universities are, and information about the study that was conducted, would help us holistically conclude about how strong this argument really is.