Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today’s times, the debate between following money or following your passion is extremely germane. While some individuals are lucky and find their passion within lucrative careers, others are not; for the latter group of individuals, passion may come at the cost of money. With that being said, I happen to agree with the hackneyed saying that “money cannot always bring you happiness”. Money is a necessity, but if one can follow their dreams and still live a decent life, it is an educational institution’s job to do so. Hence, educational institutions should not encourage their students to choose fields that would lead them towards lucrative careers.

A fundamental reason for my opinion is that educational institutions do not have the complete set of knowledge to determine what will be lucrative in the future. The jobs that prove to be lucrative today may in fact not be that lucrative tomorrow. With quick paced advancements in technology and other economic changes, jobs that we think are here to stay might actually be obsolete sooner than we can imagine. For this very reason, actively encouraging young students to follow a certain career path could very well be futile. An institution would not want to end up in a situation where they actively encouraged students to pursue the wrong careers.

In addition to the problem of asymmetric knowledge, one might also consider the fact that working at an educational institution itself is not necessarily a very lucrative career. Our minds are trained to think of quantitative trading and investment banking as lucrative careers; we never hear about teaching being rewarding. If educational institutions were to deter students from pursuing fields such as education, who would run educational institutions in the future? If schools are teaching their students to pursue fields that maximize their future incomes, then an increasing number of students may decide to forego careers like teaching and enter more wealthy industries. As this continues, the economy will enter a vicious cycle of a shortage of teachers. This is a detrimental consequence that could result from preparing students for only well-paid careers.

An opponent of this opinion might argue that educational institutions should encourage students to study fields that will be rewarding because it is practical to do so. As aforementioned, we cannot survive without money. If that is something that we cannot prevent, then pushing students towards lucrative careers would be a very pragmatic approach. After all, parents choose to educate their children in order to prepare them to succeed in the future. Today, success is often measured relative to wealth.

Overall, there is no right answer to this question; it all depends on what people view as the goals of education institutions. It is clear, however, that educational institutions are not equipped to predict what careers will be lucrative in the future, and neither would they like to see the collapse of the educational system as a result of students no longer wanting to pursue less rewarding careers such as teaching.