The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, a business organization focused the attention of her clients on a non-peddling but large scale retails of house warming fuel. This recommendation was based on certain arguments - the fact that there have been precedence of historical winter cold and antiquated use of house heating oil; the harbinger of consistent low temperature below the existing nadir; surge in the number of modern houses built - and the conjecture of prospective demand for heating fuel. While it may be a verisimilitude that such fuel are traditionally useful in keeping the house warm, the arguments upon which the recommendation of the firm are based are not well reasoned. However, three questions must be answered in order to evaluate the recommendation.

To start with, how is the experience of score days significant for the prediction of probable events of unqualified years? Or how will such observation within an annual range become surfeit to establish a pattern of event - as in the case of weather? A period of twenty days of winter cold observed within a single season is negligibly insignificant to aver that such seemingly canard information will be sufficient for the local forcasters to formulate their pattern of weather predictions. For instance, there are possibilities that the winter cold is not inherrent, and that such sudden occurrence was just by chance. If the firm fails to logically formulate arguements that answer the above questions, the recommendation of the business organization does not hold water.

Even if the author answers the above questions, should his tacit allusion of how the forcasters get data to presage be left unanswered? How about the arcanum of the relationship between newly built houses and the need to prepare for ramifications of the forcast? However much the prediction of the forcasters, the author failed to state the emperical results upon which the local forcast had been based. Further, the author stated that there will be increase in the demand for oil as a consequence of the forcast but fallshort in parelleling how it would be affected by the increasing residential infrasctures. Nonetheless, if the author had accounted for the parameters upon which the forcast was based or corresponded the significance of increased houses to his recommendation, perhaps his recommendation would have less feeble.

Moreover, the author failed to rule out the uncertainties associated with the future and such staid failure leave the reader and or the client with another question to cerebrate on - if it is a given that the forcast is true, what if the demand for heating oil does not increase? For instance, the author had corroborated the bucolic use of the heating oil as major, Not only did the firm failed to adumbrate minor other substances that could also keep the indigenous Northeastern American natives or sojournals warm, but also ruled out the possibilities of futuristic preeminence of such minor substance over the home heating fuel. It may also hold true that regardless of the traditional use of the oil during the period of twenty days winter cold accounted for, there have been absolute reliance on other more effective warmers that the firm is not aware of and that is if we want to overlook the inimical effect that might have been incurred by many which perhaps made it fall out of favour. Thus, if these riddles are not solved, then the firm's advice will remain dubious and rest more on unwarranted assumptions and that it is based.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the recommendation is flawed. It is only when the author deploy logical formulations - such as how the weather prediction pattern is formulated, the importance of residential infrastructure and more evidence to elucidate why home warming fuel will not be superseded in the future - that his recommendation to reinforce oil investiture will become reasonable.