The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner claims that adams realty is more dominant than fitch realty. He goes on to explain that adams realty has more agents and its home sales averaged better than fitch realty. However, there is no clear evidence that supports the assertion of the author.

A perfect analysis cannot be obtained solely based on the given facts and figures. For instance, it is mentioned that real estate agents of fitch realty work part time. However, there is no concise statement saying that real estate agents of adams do not. Additionally, the fact that most of the agents of fitch work part time does not mean that they might be bad at their job. Hence, the homeowner’s judgement does not hold on proper grounds.

Averages are calculated by adding all the variables and dividing that sum with the total number of variables. The lower average of fitch could mean that fitch realty sold less houses at a higher price. that would be a point in favour of fitch realty. Similarly, the higher average of adams could also mean that adams realty sold more houses but at a significantly lower rates.

The prime component of real estate is ‘Location’. In the arguments of the author, the locality of operation is not mentioned for either of the firms. one could make a compelling case for fitch operating at relatively high end locations. Superfluously, there is no mention of the type of houses sold either. Villas tend to be more expensive than flats.

Another important component of real estate is ‘time’. Ten years ago, the world was still recovering from the largest housing market crash in history. Naturally, it meant that houses weren’t in much demand. Therefore it could be argued that despite of the housing bubble crash, Finch managed to sell a house in just over four months. however, since then the real estate market has seen a considerable growth and the fact that adams realty still took a month to sell a house does not speak well about the strategy or performance of their agents.

To summarize, the facts and figures suggested by the author remain true. however, the assumptions made by the writer on the basis of these facts and figures are preposterous. numbers and figures have their own story. one cannot expect to procure full understanding of anything by simply looking at figures. A closer scrutiny is essential and sometimes, even mandatory.