Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are the backbone of society. Providing education is not the sole purpose of educational institutes. The main reason these institutes exist is to provide their students with knowledge that will help them garner success in life. success can be monetary or intellectual or both. however the path to this ‘success’ is not a cakewalk.

Most students who are enrolled in these institutes do not have a clear idea or a fixed goal for their career. For instance, rajesh wants to become an engineer. however rajesh is not very good at math and physics. here, letting rajesh choose engineering as his career would be a bad judgement as one way or the other, he is going to find it harder to climb the stairs of engineering. Considering the same example, let us assume that rajesh is excellent in english. here, a career of an english Professor is more likely to make rajesh succeed.

these types of analysis can be done by educational institutions on the basis of the performance of students in different subjects. As a result, students can be offered realistic and achievable goals based on their calibre. letting people choose careers just on the basis of what they like might ruin their precious time and money which they would have to spend chasing the wrong goal.

A lot of students choose a specific course just because ‘their friends are doing it.’ Succumbing to such peer pressure, even subconsciously can have negative effects in the long term. Had the institute been involved in the process of guiding the individual, the aforementioned incident could have been avoided. Additionally, the involvement of the institute lowers the risk of failing and thus increases the chances of success of the individual.

To sum it up, educational institutions should have a responsibility towards the students and hence they should be actively involved in the career choices of the individual. If necessary, they are also required to discourage the individual from selecting a career path that is out of his/her league.