The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

In the given prompt the home owner wants his friend to contact Adams Realty in order to sell his home with the good price in a short span of time. The homeowner makes his statements in such a definitive way that Adams realtor firm is a panacea for all the real estate problems. He hence, concludes that Adams realty fetches his friend a good price. But, the author might hold water as he makes some unfounded assumptions, if they are not substantiated in a clear manner, then they shall dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the letter written by the homeowner.

Firstly, author of the letter mentions the number of real estate agents in the Adams firm and the Fitch firm as 40 and 25 respectively. But, the author fails to say how come that proves that quality of the firm can be prejudiced by the quantity- number of agents. In the contemporary world, we see many reality firms in such cases being caught for malpractice in their field. Therefore, there might also be a chance that the firm may be selling inappropriate lands to people. Hence, the quantity of the number of realtors cannot really get to be sufficient aspect to say anything about the quality of the real estate firm. Re thinking this, might make the home owner or his friend to come to the second conclusion.

Moreover, the author gives his personal example and also the records of the selling made by the realty firms- juxtaposing them with respect to average home sales. But, it also depends on the amount of probity in those statements. The author fails to mention from where did he collect these information. If these information were from the advertisements given from the respective firms, then the suggestions made by the home owner must be re thought. The advertisements are the faces of greediness of industries nowadays and may print the numbers followed by dollar signs that fascinates and attracts the consumers.

The author’s personal suggestion even though looks promising as he underwent the some tough times with Fitch realtors which took longer time unlike the Adams realtors, He fails to mentions what were the actual reasons for them to do so. The author also fails to consider that it is based on the locations that the land get sold. Hence, if these aspects are considered, the author might come to the second thought regarding via whom it is better to sell the property.

In a nutshell, the author of the letter, suggesting to his friend about the realtors may fail to persuade his friend’s mind as his conclusion that the Adams realty firm is the best is based on some of the unfounded assumptions. If they are substantiated by using the above given factors, then the author might either come to the second conclusion or ossify it rather than being in a state of conjecture.