The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In given the author's letter, the author recommends that restricting water flow throughout all the floors of the apartment will increase the company's profits. although the author's assertion seems plausible considering that there was no problem reported with water flow adjustment on the first five floors, and the corporation is monthly pay for water now, numerous assumptions have to be delved into in order to assess the recommendation adequately.

The author's recommendation critically leans on poor analogy between water adjustment on the first five floors and the remaining fifteen floors. although water flow modification was successful on the first five floors, it does not guarantee that the same measure lead to the same degree of success on the other floors. intensity of water flow might differ in change of floors. if the higher floors have less strong intensity of water flow, such decrease in water flow might cause a lot of complaints, and the adjustment could fail. further evidence pertaining to whether the first five floors and the other floors are completely comparable is necessary for an adequate assessment.

The author's assertion assumes that few number of complaints is not a serious problem. However, despite small number of complaint, it might cause decrease in the profit of the corporation. if residences who raise the complaints move to another apartment due to weak water flow, it might bring out decrease in the profit. Moreover, people might be reluctant to apartment with weak water flow, and it is critically harmful to the company's profit. further evidence about the intensity and contents of the complaints might be vital to an accurate evaluation.

In sum, the author's argument may or may not lead to increase in profit. evidence for or against the critical assumptions, such as the difference between the first five floors and the other floors and intensity of the complaints, is needed to enable an adequate assessment.