The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author argues that changing showerheads to reduce water flow throughout all buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex will make more profits citing the example of first showerhead-modified three buildings. This assertions seems plausible as the author shows apparently compelling examples and logic to persuade readers for extending the implementation. However, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, not thus, to lead the manager to introducing this new policy to all of the buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex.

First, there is a question about the fact that the readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are really going to be different. This presumption is seemingly palpable since restriction of maximum water flow are likely to limit the entire water usage in those buildings. However, people may use water during more longer time than before because of the lower water pressure. There are many examples what are needed to use water in household such as taking shower, dish-washing, and laundry. In those cases, the total water usage may not be likely to be decreased because those are clearly necessary to maintain basic life. To sum up, the author should provide more evidence about the prediction of declination in water usage to strengthen his/her argument.

Second, one may cast doubt on the quantities and contents of ‘a few complaints’ the author said. Using only a quantifier ‘a few’ cannot clearly give an exact circumstances about the complaints. A few complaints may be trivial and minuscule, however, the exact ratio of unsatisfied residents to all people living in the complex may be more beneficial to make the author’s assertion convincing. Furthermore, nevertheless the extant people who made complaints are actually in very low percentage, they may be in a severe prolem due to extremely lower water pressure. In this case, even they are a minority in the entire residents of the complex, they may move to another apartments or houses whether the problems are not solved. If then, the potential loss may be possible to damage profits of the complex. That’s why the author should offer the specific data about the complaints to expand the new showerheads in the entire buildings in Sunnyside complex.

Finally, the author did not provide any concrete information about all twelve buildings. Since the remained nine buildings might be in a different circumstance with three buildings already changed to new showerheads, this matter may cause a significant damage to the assertion what the author made. For instance, some of the buildings may be relatively in highlands than others. In this case, the high altitude of those buildings may suffer its residents to lacking of water pressure because generally the water is in underground. If then, for solving this issue, those buildings may need another facilities such as water tanks in rooftops of each of the buildings, which require more costs to be constructed. In summary, modifying the showerheads in all of the buildings may need more costs than the case of first three of them.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that modifying showerheads will surge the profits of the complex cannot be fully agreed with. The limitation of water usage may be directly linked with lower costs for using water. However, the argument is likely to be weakened if the author do not provide more information related to actual readings of water usage, presented complaints, and the environment of the entire buildings in the complex.