The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager. "One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author predicts that through restricting the water flow throughout the 12 buildings, the sunnyside corporation can make a dramatic increase of profits. To support the prediction, the author cites that a recently experiments that the water restriction in the first three building receive no complains about the shower and may able to save considerable payments for sunnyside corporation since corporation must pay for water each month.

However, before we reach the conclusion of the accuracy of this prediction, we need to raise several questions, and the answer to them will help us assess the argument.

To begin with, the author cites that the showerheads in the first three buildings were modified to restrict the maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be, where the author draw a conclusion that this adjustment will obviously lead to the decrease of the payment that corporation must pay each month. But the actual data of water utilization before and after the modification are still not available. Moreover, the survey was finished one month ago, if other factors happened to change, for example, the tempreture rise, will undermine the efficacy of the result. As a result, we need to ask how much water is actually saved in the 3 buildings, without the raliable data that should be shown in the argument, it is impossible to draw any conclusion about the financial save for the sunnyside corporation based on the current survey.

In addition, the author assume that no complains from the first three building means that there will also be no bemoan from the other 9 buildings. however, no evidence shows that the other nine buildings are equivalent to the first three building. Unless there is another survey through the other nine buildings, and get effective consequence which shows the unity of the 12 buildings, it is hardly conceivable that once the adjustment has been done, no problems of showers would be castigate.

What's more, no complains about the showerheads does not mean no complains about other issues, and these issues may engender to a increase of payment. With this prospection, the author's another assumption fail to draw the conclusion that the restriction of water flows can save more money and make the profits mushroom for corporation.

In sum, the conclusion reached in the argument is invalid and misleading. I would suspend my judgment about the credibility of the argument until the author can provide more information about the compliants survey from all 12 buildings and the acurate data about the water saving