The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex, it is predicted that the adjustment of showerheads in all the twelve buildings at Sunnyside Towers complex will increase the profit margin of Sunnyside Corporation. This conclusion was drawn based on the fact that modifying showers will lead to the modification of water flow which in turn will reduce the fees the Corporation pays for water bills monthly. However, this recommendation needs to be subjected to three questions before it can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, is it possible that the reduction in water pressure in showerheads would lead to less patronage of the complex from customers? Maybe one of the reasons the Sunnyside complex is preferred by their customers is there maximum water flow. Therefore, if that is reduced to one-third of its original value, will customers still want to live in the complex? If the number of people who want to leave within the complex reduces would that not affect the profits of the corporation? The author of the letter provides no evidence that states otherwise, hence, if this stands true, then the conclusion drawn by the author is significantly flawed.

Furthermore, is it possible that the water usage before and after the adjustment are the same? The author prematurely assumes that a reduction in water flow in showerheads will automatically result in a lower usage of water. It is possible that some people might switch to alternative water sources that will provide them with the right amount of pressure. For instance, some people might decide to switch the use of taps for the provision of water for their bathing. Since the water pressure in the taps are not reduced, will it not still result in the same quantity of water that will result in the same value of water bills for the Sunnyside Corporation? Without further information about how people would be deterred from using alternative sources of water to fulfill their needs, it is difficult to evaluate the reasoning behind the conclusion of the author.

Finally, is it possible that the corporation has to pay the same amount of money regardless of the volume they use? In some places, the water bill value is dependent on the type of property being considered rather than the usage of water in that property. Hence, if that is the case in this scenario, then the reduction in water pressure and usage in the complex would be inconsequential to the cost incurred by the corporation in the payment of water bills. Hence, the author needs to provide context to the charging system being utilized in the state or county the Sunnyside Towers complex is situated. Without this, it is difficult to examine the effect that the reduction in water use will have on the profits of the corporation. Hence rendering his conclusion questionable.

As it stands, the argument of the author is considerably flawed. There are some pertinent questions about the assumptions on which his conclusion is based. Therefore, further evaluation and evidence needs to be provided to answer these questions, without such move, his argument cannot be properly evaluated.