The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, the owner argues that the restriction of water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase the company’s profit. He supplements his argument by assuming that the water flow restriction applied to the first three buildings will save the expense and that there has been no problem with showers except for low water pressure since the adjustment. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the owner needs to provide solid evidence that the restriction of maximum water flow will result in the company’s savings. However, as the owner evinced in the letter, the actual readings of water usage have not been reported. In this respect, his expectation on the future decrease of the water usage is not convincing, for there are many other factors that can contribute to the increase of water usage. It is possible that the low water pressure that some residents have already complained about can make them use more of water. Therefore, the owner should provide more information about his conclusion on the impact of the restriction on the company’s savings.

In addition, more cogent pieces of evidence are needed on whether there would be no problem with the restriction in the long run. Since it has been only one month since the change has been made, so it is not guaranteed that it would not pose any problem in the long run. For example, the dissatisfaction with the low water pressure can substantially increase in the long run. Also, there might be compatibility issue regarding showerheads, since some showerheads would not support the low water pressure.

Furthermore, the owner should supplement his argument with more concrete evidence on whether the expand of the restriction to all twelve buildings will increase the company’s profit. Even if the aforementioned factors are all firmly resolved, the inherent conditions of the first three buildings could be drastically different from those of the remaining ones. It is possible that the shower heads of the remaining buildings are not suitable for low water pressure, increasing the expense for replacing the shower heads. Thus, the owner must also provide the information of the analysis on the possibility of the increase of the expense.

In conclusion, the owner’s argument is not persuasive owing to the lack of evidence on the impact of the change to the company’s saving, the long-term effect of the change, and the similarity between the inherent conditions of the first three buildings and the remaining ones. To bolster his argument, the owner must provide more information with regard to the short-term and the long-term effect of the adjustment on the company’s savings and the residents.