The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex

to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complexes were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporations must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers Apartment, the owner avers that to reduce the cost of water usage, few modifications were made a month prior. Also, the owner assumes that performing similar modifications in the remaining twelve buildings would be highly cost effective and would bring lots of profits to the complex. To decide whether this prediction will have profitable results for both the corporation and the people living in it, we need to analyse and evaluate three points critically.

Firstly, we need to understand under what circumstances the owner took the decision to change the water supply quantity by modifying the showerheads. Changing the showerheads to reduce the amount of water flown might be proven to be an effective change but it is not the only thing to decide whether there will be reduction in the water usage, as there are other factors too like water leakage in other equipments like water tank, supply lines, faucets in the kitchens and washrooms. Based on this factor this may not result in a very large margin of profit.

Secondly, it is necessary to inspect the timings of the water supply. Is water supply available for twenty-four hours or any other particular timings are followed to allow the water supply. Based on this factor, we can connect this to the previous factor that is leakage problems in equipment. If water is supplied twenty-four hours then this may result in overnight leakage like faucets, tanks and supply lines. In this circumstance, reducing the water supply only by modifying showerheads may not be proven as effective as it seems theoretically.

Thirdly, the owner himself claimed in the letter that there were few complaints regarding low water pressure which shows that this decision can definitely lead to extra expenses over repairs and reinstallation of the damaged equipment. So, this raises a big concern for the corporation that modifying the water supply facility shouldn’t cause any collateral damage through added expenses for incomplete work. Finally, by considering this point it is evident that this prediction to bring profits for the corporation doesn’t hold water.

To conclude, I don't agree that this decision is helpful for the corporation to have profits and supply benefits to the people living there. Instead, the corporation should initially do an adequate amount of research about the water usage of the complex based on different factors like timings of water supply, possible leakages in the complex buildings and equipment. After completing this survey and research a decision must be taken.