The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers
apartment complex to its manager.
"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the
Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to
one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage
before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will
obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation,
since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few
complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been
reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to
restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers
complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be
answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which
it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these
questions would help to evaluate the prediction.
MY RESPONSE
In this article the owner of sunnyside towers apartment writes to his manager
suggesting modification of showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve
buildings in the sunnyside towers complex will increase profits further based on
the fact that for about one month all showerheads in the first three buildings of
the sunnyside towers were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of
what it used to be and there have not been any problems but just a few complains
about low water pressure. The owner of Sunnyside Towers makes a valid argument,
one which may seem logical at the first glance and would be correct if its premises
were true. It fails to take an holistic view of all the areas concerned before
taking this decision. However, his conclusions relies on assumptions for which
there is no clear evidence and it also uses terms that lack definition, "consi
derable". All in all, this article is not logically reasoned, weak and
unconvincing.
In order to evaluate this article we need to have a significant amount of
additional evidence. The second sentence in the article tells us that actual
readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available.
So where is the evidence that the owner is taking the right decision? This
however appears to be an arbitrary decision. Above all, it would weaken the
owner's decision if we were to discover that there is actually no change in
profits made by the Sunnyside Towers.
"Considerable", how much is considerable? How much are we talking about here?
Perharps the owner of the sunnyside towers could be on a pennywise pound
foolish journey if mechanical faults arises from the reduction in the
efficiency of his mechanical pumps, as he might end up having to spend
more to fix them rather than making profits on them.
His article also talks about a few complains over just three buildings, we
can obviously infer that there would be more complains if all twelve buildings
weere to be on such routine and it would be more heart breaking for the users
if they eventually discover this to be a delibrate act by the management of
Sunnyside Towers Apartment. This would put to question the trust of the
management and alienation would set in.
we need conclusive evidences that embarking on this decision would bring
an appreciable profit in the management's purse and also not reduce customer
satisfaction and that Sunnyside Tower's intergrity would not be stained, then
the owners suggestion in the article would be strengthened.
In conclusion, the sunnyside tower article leaves more leaves more to be desired
as it presents an illogical reasoning and a flawed evidence. It fails to present
compelling evidences to support its claim but rather turns on presuppositions that
reducing maximum water flow of the showerheads will increase profits further.
However, this article would be strenghtened by providing evidence that it would
not turn out to be a pennywise pound foolish on the management of the apartment.
Also the owner of the sunnyside towers need to provide a well labelled, properly
conceptualized and palpable data or statistics of similar apartments in the past
or currently doing such that have yielded profits. The owner would be well advised
to address these issues so as to make the article more cogent and convincing. In
order to access the merits of a certian situation, it is important to have full
knowledge of all contributing factors.