Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no
speaker or reformer ever could.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with
the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most
compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.
The mere thought of scandals bring to the mind terribles occurences, a malfeasance of
sort. In a way the word seem to be associated with public figures or a synonym we could
say. We could also say it occurs due to the action of murcracking, but whatever the
issue may be and what results from it, it mostly does not yield a character worthy of
emulation. Of course they are useful especially in government officials, even sometimes
in sports. It has been a tool to check-mating the actions of the government officials.
Take for instance, the incidents of tour de france 7 time winner lance armstrong,
the american female sprinter marion jones and pole vault 6 time olympic champion the
russian helena isinbayeva bears this all out.
Perhaps the greatest cyclist to have ever lived was Lance Armstrong judging by his
success in the sports of cycling. Lance an american won the tour de france, the biggest
competition in the sport 7 times consecutively from 1999 throught 2005. A fit no man
has never acheived even till today, at a time his name was acclaimed synonymous to
the sport cycling, when sport analyst say cycling it means lance and when they say
lance armstrong, it means cycling. He was regarded as a living legend not until when
the United States Anti-doping agency USADA started investigation on his 7 time
success in tour de france and reported that he actually cheated all those years.
An investigation that proved true that even Lance himself admitted that he cheated and
told the world that based on the method he adopted in cheating, no man could have
been cut as at the time, a method that seem to pass the regular urine test sampling
and the likes. what a shame it was for the sports of cycling and the world in general
as before the time he was a role model to millions of kids all over the world, this
scandal of course was useful as he served as a deterent to people who would have been
considering cheating in order to attain fame.
Marion Jones wept like a baby when it was discovered that she had won her olympic
medals on cheating at the games. A bitter pill to swallow for millions of americans
who adored her as a role model in athlectics. Once again her scandal proved to be
useful in teaching millions of aspiring young athletes in the world not eschew the
idea of cheating to win laurels for the nation and acclaim glib success in the
field.
Just like Lance Armstrong in the field of cycling, you could say exactly the same for
the russian female athlete. 3 time olympic champion and 6 time world champion Helena
Isinbayeva, she even broke her own personal records severally and was the definition
of Pole Vault itself. But, just thesame scandal brought her downfall, when she was
discovered to have cheated. She was not only striped of her medals at the olympic
but was also banned and could be said that she never existed when you talk about the
sports, indeed it was a huge dissapointment to many young russian athletes who looked
up to her. Again, scandal proved to be useful here.
While many may drift away from the word and its occurences and the sad tail it brings
with it. It only seem that we are avoiding the obvious truth. In order for us to
encourage a safe and secure society, we need to also embrace scandals with what it
brings, afterall it is not all that gliters that is gold.
In conclusion, though people are different and would expectedly have different views
on the subject matter. But, it is a common occurence what scandals bring with it. It
uses can not be over emphasized as it ensures that the culprits stand out as deterent
to others and ensure that public morals are checked and proper behaviour worthy of
emulation are exhibited by the supposedly role models. The dissapointing and shameful
stories of marion jones, lance armstrong and helena isinbayeva will always linger
in the history of Olympics federation. Above all, scandals will always remain useful
and siginicant regardless of the field it decides to surface.