The following appeared in a letter from a university career center to recent alumni:

While our school's recent job placement rates have been dismal, there is hope on the way. National reports show that the economy has added over two hundred thousand jobs this quarter, and the capital markets seem to suggest that the economy will continue to expand rapidly. With the surge in hiring, there is no question that your Columbus State degree will lead toward gainful employment in the very near future.

The argument claims that the Columbus University's degree will soon lead toward gainful employment for the recent alumni despite the fact that the recent placement rates have been dismal. The conclusion of the argument is based on the premise that the economy has added over two hundred thousand jobs in the current quarter, and that capital markets seem to suggest that the economy will continue to expand rapidly. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Moreover, the conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that limited availability of jobs is the only factor responsible for dismal placement rates. However, it fails to take into account several other factors, which could affect the placement rates of the university. For instance, university curriculum and relevant industry exposure possessed by university alumni are factors that can have a great impact on the placement rates. It is possible that the quality of education at the university may have declined or university alumni may not be having the relevant experience, leading to dismal placement records. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly provided examples or reason to support this assumption.

Second, the argument claims that an expanding economy will definitely lead to a surge in hiring for the university alumni. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim because the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between expansion of economy and surge in hiring. To illustrate this, consider a situation in which the expansion in economy is due to increased productivity of the manufacturing sector, thereby creating more jobs for the unskilled labor. In such a scenario, though the economy will continue to expand rapidly, it will not result in more hiring opportunities for the university alumni. If the argument had provided evidence that an expanding economy will lead to increased hiring for the university alumni, the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

In order to strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide evidence that limited availability of jobs is the only factor responsible for dismal university placement records. In addition, information about the consequences of expanding economy on hiring opportunities for university alumni would further help in evaluating the argument. Without this information, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantiated point.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts needed to assess the merits of the given situation. Without these facts, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.