The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt apparently strives to persuade readers of this passage that Clearview is a perfect place for people who are seeking for an appropriate place to spend the rest of their lives. The author of the passage above mentions four different appealing features of the city, each of which has fundamental flaws and given assumptions. In this article I will discuss some of them and clear new evidences needed to make argument more cogent.

The author primarily states that the city of Clearview has glamorous natural beauty and steady climate pattern, which are very appealing for elderly people. This statement would seem very alluring to the reader, however I found it very obscure for two reasons. First of all, the expression of beauty in the prompt does not create clear image in mind. It is a crucial point because the idea of beauty is subjective to the individuals; some people might find coastline beautiful and consider living there, while others would want spending their time in countryside. The author should provide more detailed information in order to eradicate obscurity about the notion of beauty. And the second reason, consistency of climate shares the same spirit of vagueness because the information about the type of climate is missing. For example, exaggeratively speaking, arctic has a very steady climate pattern, it is all year long winter time. Nevertheless, I would not imagine anyone has a penchant to live in such a climate. It is also valid for extremely humid and hot climate types, their steadiness do not make them mild and liveable places. I would want to see a further piece of information to decide if I can live in that climate. These two examples demonstrates that obscurity of the sentence drastically undermines the strength of the argument.

In addition, the passage asserts that moving to the city of Clearview is very reasonable because the housing prices decresead in the previous year. Yet again, despite the word choice of ‘decrease' appeals the reader, in essence, without further investigation, this does not mean persuade the prospective people who would consider moving to the city. This argument is weak because, despite there might be some decrease in last year, it does not clarify the fact that from which point it had decreased. The fact of 'decrease' does not necessarily mean the housing prices are inexpensive. Another concern that I find deficient in the argument is that how long this putative ‘lower' price range would remain the same. It is specifically important because housing prices include rentals as well and some of the people will have to rent houses rather than buying them. Besides as newcomers buy houses the condition of market would change. Which is why the lack of knowledge on this issue put the argument in a untrustable place.

Additionally, according to the passage, the mayor of the city of Clearview promises to proceed new projects such as streets, schools and public services in the ensuing years. Having said that, this claim would not entice readers because it is not conclusive. Unfortunately, promises are abundant in politicians mouth, but most of the time we do not see these promises are fulfilled. In order these promises to convince the reader, the passage need to provide new evidences and statistics about the city and the mayor herself. For instance, the answers to the questions of how credible is she, and how successful is she in her recent projects may serve beneficial details to the persuasiveness of the passage. Without them, a reader would not find the argument solid.

Although this paper planned to address all of the hidden assumptions and flaws of the passage, due to scarcity of time, it did not become possible. However, I believe that, the highlights I made are sufficient to demonstrate that the prompt is not efficacious enough to persuade the reader. Therefore, some further details and piece of evidences can help to procure further persuasiveness.