The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the magazine article, the author advertises Clearview area to be among the top choice for elder people to make retirement plan. However, whether the statement holds true or not depends on the validity of the information provided by the author. There are three pieces of evidence need to be further explained or provided in details in order to increase the persuasiveness of the article.

First of all, information showed by the author that housing cost decreased the previous year and taxes remains lower comparing with the neighboring towns was not necessarily true. Take, for example, the housing cost of the past five years was much higher than the current cost, but only decreased in the last year due to stagnant sale in housing. If this is the case, the retirees are most likely to face higher overall housing price in comparison to the average price in the recent five years. Moreover, a similar type of assumption was make where the author claims taxes were lower comparing to the neighboring towns, but he or she does not state how much the taxes are or was in the neighborhood. It is only when the viewers are confirmed with the exact numbers that they can decide for themselves the housing price in Clearview is low or high.

Secondly, it is stated in the article that Clearview promises to provide new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services, which does not guarantee the usage from the retirees. The article advertises for retirees, but there is almost no need for further education or new programs with expensive laboratory room and equipment for elder people, unless they are social classes, or a place for them to hangout, then it could be a losing investment. Furthermore, retirees might include elder people with a spectrum of health problem, which if it is true, they are more likely to stay home and prefer better house condition and home care rather than road upgrading or restaurant expanding. Unless the author could proved that the majority of retirees are healthy enough, or interested enough to use the public services, these new programs are not likely to sell.

Last but not least, the article claims that Clearview has a plethora of physicians, leading to better health care, which is a fallacy in reasoning quantity over quality. A clear example is that no matter how many physicians operating in Clearview, if no one proves to be good enough to handle emergency situation such as late stage diabetes, choking, health stroke, then life would be at all time risk for residents in this area. In medical field, it is unethical to compare quality of this doctor over the other one, because when it comes to a life matter task, it is either the patient's life is saved or not. Further examination of the degree and quality of a physician in Clearview is required to confirm health safety for everyone, not just retirees in this area.

In conclusion, the article, as it stands now, is considerably specious due to it's reliance on multiple unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to explain and provide evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study) for his claim, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the suggestion that retirees should move to Clearview area.