The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for he

An investment firm provides some advice for a client to invest Consolidated Industries which is a heating oil company for some reasons. However, those reasons are based on the following assumptions.

Most homes in the northeastern United States used oil as their major fuel for heating. The firm assumes that those homes will still use oil for heating for the next years. However, people live in the northeastern United States may change their way to keep warm, for instance, using an electric heater. The price of oil has been rising in this decade because of the energy crisis. On the other hand, some renewable energy emerges and is used for generating electricity. As a result, the price of electricity declines recently. If the price of using an electric heater is lower than heating oil, there is a high chance that people replace heating oil and use an electric heater.

The climate forecasters predict that the weather in the northeastern United States will lower than normal temperatures for 90 days for several years. The firm assumes that climate prediction is correct. If the forecasters are professional, their prediction may be trust-worthy, and this may be true. However, the climate prediction may still be wrong. Weather changes quickly even in one day, so don't even mention the climate changes for years. For example, in Taiwan, typhoons come a lot in summer. According to the climate forecasters, the government closes schools and offices in the country to prevent serious damage because of a typhoon. But sometimes the forecast is wrong, the typhoon sweeps over Taiwan more quickly than expected, and people get a day off with sun and clean air.

Many new homes are being built in the region. The firm assumes that people soon will move in and the demand for heating oil increases. However, maybe these new homes are just another investment, and people will not move in for the next few years. Take my hometown for example, since the government decides to build a new MRT station nearby, the growth of new building has been continuing for years, but the population in my hometown does not increase along with the growth. As a result, the demand for heating oil and the thriving new buildings are not related.

To sum up, before the firm offers more strong evidence to support their assumptions, the client should not make a hasty decision.