The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author recommends investment in consolidated Industries because oil, the company sells, is primary source to heat house and continuously freezing climate. however, several questions need answering to check the claim.

The author claims that oil is the major source for heating house. however, there are many alternative ways to keep warm, such as electronics heaters, coals, and simply wearing more clothes. Besides, these alternative solutions could be cheaper than oil. The author is suggested to offer the cost of possible solutions to strengthen his or her claim. For example, maybe among all solutions, oil has lowest cost to generate heat, so we use it as a main source to heat house and this makes sense to consider the possibility to invest oil related company. however, if another way is economical, such as, the cost of electronic heater is cheaper than oil. it obviously does not make sense to invest oil.

Even if the oil is the most efficient source to heat houses, how much we could benefit to invest a retailer company? For instance, the price of oil could cut half because we invest them, this could be undoubted beneficial. however, if there is just 1% price cutting, it is barely to persuade the invest could be worthy. As we known, retailer profit is pretty low compared to the manufacturer, because there are lots of retailers to sell products. For example, Apple retailer only benefit 3% of base, however the headquarter, in charge of design, gain 60 to 70% of total income. therefore, more justification and evidence is required to fortify the reasons to invest oil company.

The letter mentions that the last reason for heating is 90 days with below-normal temperatures and predicted to continue for more years. The weather prediction credibility or background is not elaborated. because who and how to do the prediction is crucial. For example, if a awesome reputation weather center has many successful experiences in the past, it would be reliable to trust. however, if a college student major in climate does a rough prediction without adequate prediction model and necessary equipment, the result could be doubtful. therefore, the background of the forecaster and the prediction methodology is required to provide to consolidate the claims.

The author needs to answer the above questions to strength his or her argument.