The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States quot For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year howe

The owner of the chain of cheese stores recommended that they should discontinue stocking imported cheese and concentrate more on domestic cheese. While the recommendation might hold water, it is based on some assumptions that, if proven wrong, will seriously weaken the argument. To evaluate the argument properly, the following concerns should be addressed.

First, even though the five best-selling kinds of cheese of the newest store are domestic cheddar, what is the ratio of contribution of domestic to imported cheese in the profit? It is possible that the five best-selling kinds of cheese are domestic cheddar, yet following all the popular products are imported cheese. Concurrently, it is possible that imported cheese brings more revenue to the cheese store despite the top five products being domestic cheddar. Even if domestic cheese brings the maximum of the store's profit and imported cheese brings 'let's say' the second highest percentage of profit, deducting stocking of imported cheese will reduce the profitability of the store. If this is true, cutting off or even reducing the stock of imported cheddar will negatively impact the profitability of the store and weaken the owner's argument.

Second, the argument is based on only the newest store. One single store cannot be representative of the whole company and all its stores. It is possible that imported cheese is more popular than domestic cheese in most of the stores of the chain. Taking such a decision based on the performance report of just one store would not be wise. Rather a thorough survey should be conducted among all the stores of the chain and find out what is the contribution of imported and domestic cheese. Even if imported cheese does not bring the highest amount of profit, it cannot be cut off. If imported chees brings only an insignificant amount of profit, only discontinuing the stocking of imported cheese might be a good idea.

Third, the argument mentions a survey of Cheeses of the World magazine that its subscribers mostly prefer domestic cheese. However, it is unclear if the subscribers of the magazine are representative of the customers of the chain of cheese stores. It is possible that the subscribers of the magazine and the customers of the cheese store are completely two separate groups. While the subscribers of the magazine prefer domestic cheese, the customers of the cheese factory might prefer imported cheese. To make a business decision, the cheese store chain should conduct a survey among its customers to find their specific preferences. Otherwise discontinuing stocking imported cheese would not be a great idea.

Finally, the owner recommended that they should limit inventory to reduce expenses. However, it is unclear if the company conducted and demand-supply analysis to conclude this way. It is possible that limiting inventory all of a sudden would imbalance the demand-supply relationship. The store might fail to meet the customers' demands since it has limited its stock. If so, it will negatively affect the profitability of the company and also weaken the owner's recommendation.

To conclude, it can be said that the recommendation of the owner might be a good one but to reach a firm conclusion, more data is required. If the owner of the store addresses and analyses the above-mentioned concerns, it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation.