The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing During the past year workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on the job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries where the work shifts are one hou

The vice president of Butler Manufacturing recommended that each shift should be shortened by one hour to reduce on-the-job accidents. While the recommendation might hold water, it is based on some assumptions which, if proven wrong, will significantly weaken the argument. To evaluate the recommendations, the following concerns should be addressed.

First, the recommendation is based on only the difference between the durations of the shifts to factories. It does not address the safety measures taken by the two factories. It is possible that Panoply Industries take more safety measures than Butler Manufacturing. Panoply may have more up-to-date safety gears and instruments that protect their workers from accidents and ensure safety. On the other hand, it is possible that Butler Manufacturing relies on old safety measures and the management is not concerned about upgrading the safety tools. If all these are true, inadequate safety measures taken by Butler Manufacturing might be the main reason behind the increased accidents in the factory and this will seriously weaken the recommendation of the vice president.

Second, the memo mentions a government study report about fatigue and sleep deprivation being significant factors behind on-the-job accidents. However, it does not mention if the workers of Butler Manufacturing are really sleep-deprived and have fatigue. It is possible that despite working one extra hour compared to the workers of Panoply Industries, most of the workers of Butler Manufacturing are not sleep deprived and do not have fatigue. If so, the reason behind the accidents would be something else other than fatigue and sleep deprivation and the government study would be irrelevant in this regard. A proper survey should be conducted among the workers of Butler Manufacturing about their work-life balance and how they enjoy working their shift to find the significance of the said factors of the government study in this scenario.

Third, the argument does not mention the level of training workers have in both factories. It is possible that the workers of Panoply Industries are highly trained to protect and handle any occupational hazards inside the factory. They may have regular drills and demos that make them ready to face these hazards. On the other hand, the workers of Butler Manufacturing may not be adequately trained to save themselves from accidents. The management of Butler Manufacturing may be reluctant to initiate training programs. If this is true, blaming one extra shift hour for the accidents would not be appropriate, and recommending the shift hours would be invalid.

Finally, the argument does not mention about the change in the rates of accidents in Panoplyb Industries before and after they have reduced their shift hours. It is possible that the accident rates among the workers of Panoply may be remained unchanged or even increased after the work shift has been reduced because workers have to work faster to finish their work within a shorter time. If a shorter work shift does not benefit the accident rates in Panoply, it is not appropriate to use that case to reduce the work shift in Butler Manufacturing to decrease accident rates.

The recommendation of reducing the shift length might be a good one. However, before implementing any such change, the above-mentioned concerns should be addressed and assessed properly in order to find the best out of the change.