The following appeared in a memo from the Dean of students housing of Buckingham college.

" To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories, Buckingham's enrollment is growing and based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making the existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

The Director of Buckingham College assumes that the cost of off campus housing has increased in recent years. And under the notion that enrollment of students is growing rapidly so there is possibility that it may double in coming years and will make the existing dormitories inadequate. Hence Dean’s line of reasoning is that an attractive new dormitory will serve the housing needs of students as well as will make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

Firstly the Dean hastily predicts what is going to happen in future on the basis of current trends as we all know that companies that make plans and implement them on the basis of assumptions are most likely to suffer heavily in future. So its rather childish to make such an assumption.

Secondly the Dean assumes that enrollments are going to double in next 50 years. Since we don’t have actual statistical data about number of enrollments now and then we cannot say that building new dormitories will be a profitable decision. Suppose that number of students is 100, so in 50 years it will be 200. Thus building new dormitories just for the sake of these additional 100 students is not worth considerable.

Also the Dean asserts confidently that even after 50 years the off campus accommodation will remain costlier than dormitory. But he does not consider the factors that are leading to drift in prices of new apartments in future which include governments aids, land prices, cost of construction etc. which are going to prevail in next 50 years. Hence Dean’s assumption is too much emphasizing since he is neglecting the various internal factors like alumni, students development, research programs etc. and various external factors such as government policies, available funds etc.

In sum it is quite clear that the Dean’s assumption of building new dormitories is negotiable at the moment and instead this fund should be used for developing the research and other academic facilities. Hence the Dean should reconsider his stand and must provide better evidences which makes the assumption more sound and convincing.