The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that, in order to manage the unemployment rate in Hillview, a promotional campaign about the area should be done to incentive the construction of Autotech' car industry, may seem reasonable at first glance. However, before implementing this policy the Mayor of Hillview needs to address some questions to provide further and stronger evidence to his argument.

First, the Mayor is strongly convinced that the landfill around his city is the perfect place to build an industry. This could be a good point to persuade the company but without a pratical explaination it will not be taken in consideration. For this reason, in order to be more persuasive, the Mayor should provide scientific data which support his assumption. Suppose, for instance, that Hillview's area is full of source of green energy. In this case the company would be much more prone to choose it as a site for the factory.

Second, the Mayor should answer why he is that convinced that Autotech after having built their factory in Hillview, is going to hire local employees. As a matter of fact no clear evidence about thta is reported in the memo and, if local people will remain unemployed the initial problem would not be solved. For this reason, the Mayor must clearify whether he has already estabilish some rules with the automobile company concerning the hiring of local people and, in the case he has not done it yet, it would necessary to start doing it.

All this add to the fact that the Mayor has not made any comparison between the cost needed for the advertisiment campaign and the future benefits that would be gained from the hire of local employees. For this reason, before the policy implementation, the Mayor should be required to answer some questions regarding the economics consequences of the campaign.

In conclusion, before the policy will be implemented many questions have to be adressed by the Major. First, more information about the area should be given to the company investors in order to make the area seem more attractive and to depict it as the perfect place to build the fatory. In addition, he has to clarify whether some benefits to hire local people has been provided to the company or not, and in the last case it would be wise to do it. Last, the relationship between the cost of the campaign and its future economics benefits should be clearified in order to understand whether this investiment would be reasonable. Only when all this question will have an answer, the campaign should be started.