The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview: " In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Mayor of the city of the Hillview asserts in a memo that there is increased unemployment

problem in the city of Hillview. The main reason he quotes to the abondonment of the

national facility last year by the computech computer software programming company in

the city. Mayor recommends a few measures to mitigate the unemployment problem. He avers

that the Hillview landfill has been undeveloped for the decades and is the perfect site

for the Autotech plant in the city. According to the Mayor, if the city can attract the

giant car manufacturing companies to build the automobile plant site in the city, there

will be reduced unemployment owing to the increased workforce demands. Building and

staffing of the plants will put to work thousands of the Hillview residents, the Mayor

concludes. Mayor recommends the large campaign to attract the giant car manufacturing

company through significant tax incentives.

This opinion has a few assumptions. Solving these assumptions can give the lucid answer

for the right decision making. These assumptions has to be properly analysed and

validated. The argument might prove defunct, if these assumptions are validated.

Firstly, There is an underlying assumption that the workers working at computech

computer software programming company will need not upskilling or will have similar

skills to work in the autotech company. This needs to be solved, as there might be huge

skill gap to even provide right employment opportunity to the right candidate. There

might be need of initial money and time investments for upskilling which can be used for

building some other industry other than Autotech in alignment with current workforce

skills.

Secondly, The residents might not be willing to work in the extreme manufacturing

conditions. It is important to note the residents population demographics such as the

ratio of women to men, young to old, Graduated to primary educated. These are important

factors to consider before setting the workers expectations for the AutoTech. For

example, there can be residents older than forties and not willing to work in the

construction sites. There can be younger generation who was willing to work in the

computech company with good in-house facilities and not be willing to work in the rash

construction sites.

Lastly, it is important to find out the reason behind Computech company to leave the

city. The city might not be having conducive environment to attract the skillful

resources or may be business and clients within the company. The city might need major

upgrade to attract the cosmopolitan opportunities. In such case, the major investments

would be required to build great universities and upgrading bucolic settings in the city

to attract further urban developments. Infact, city might be the best to provide bucolic

settings and attract tourism. Building tourism space and industry might be beneficial

for the city, in that case.

Therefore, the argument mentioned in the memo is presumptuous to take to the decision of

inviting AutoTech. The above-mentioned assumptions should be properly validated to reach

to the conclusion. According to the assumptons, the argument needs a proper check on the

demographics of the current workforce, checking the city's current ambience and settings

or may be upskilling the current workforce to attract right fit opportunities.