The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the author suggests that the company should resume production of alpaca overcoat to gain profits. To support the argument, the author points out that both the demand and the price of the alpaca overcoat will be high since there is no major competitors selling that and the price of other types of clothing have climbed up. However, additional evidence needs to be provided in order to fully evaluate the proposal.

The first evidence we need is regarding whether that kind of alpaca overcoat will be popular. The author assumes that the 5-year gap without offering an alpaca overcoat and quitted production by other competitors are responsible for the high demand of the coat. However, we find no concrete evidence to substantiate the relationship between these. Perhaps the fashion trend has been shifted for a while and the overcoat is not popular as it was before. Or, perhaps other competitors decided to stop manufacturing the overcoat because they sensed there would not be sustainable demand. Without considering these conditions and factors, the author could not conclusively link the inevitable relationship.

Furthermore, another evidence that might be conducive to the argument is customers' willing to pay higher prices for the overcoats. A hidden assumption implied by the author in the argument is that the increased prices of other types of clothing can be equally be applied to indicate the trend for the overcoat. However, we may ask whether the overcoat and other types of clothing are similar enough and comparable. For example, maybe the cost of the wool fabric used to manufacuture the coat stay stable or even decline in the past five years, thus the higher price might not be accepted by customers. Or, the increased prices of other types of clothings are due to their fashionable designs that the overcoat might not own or enbody. Unless the author takes these scenarios into account, otherwise we cannot draw the conclusion that customers would be happy to accept a higher price of the coat.

Last but not least, one more evidence that is also important to the argument could come from the probability of the increasing profit. Even though the it might be true that the demand of the overcoat is quite high and customers are willing to pay higher for it, the company profits do not necessarily grow. The profits come not only from the sale of the product which are reflected in the demand and the price, but also from the cost including operation fees, salaries, material costs, etc. There might be possibilities that the supplies of the high quality wool fabric are so limited that they were sold at a much higher price than usual, resulting in a comparable higher price of the coat which customers might not willing to take. Consequently, the sale of the overcoat will slump dramatically and the company will not make money from that.

In conclusion, even though the author proposes a probably profitable business plan for the company to make profits by resuming the production of alpaca overcoat, he or she must provide concrete evidence to support the feasibility. Such evidence includes, but is not limited to, the demand of the overcoat, the price customers willing to pay and other factors such as costs and expenses.