The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued productio

The vice president of men’s clothing company, Sartorian expects the alpaca overcoat would sell very after being discontinued for the last five years. This is based on the assumption that they have not offered the alpaca overcoat for the last 5 years and major competitors are no longer making these coats which will result to a rise in customer demand. The Vice President also assumes since the prices of most of the clothing has increased in the past 5 years, people would not mind paying significantly higher prices for these coats and this would eventually increase company profits. While the reintroduction of alpaca overcoats may work as expected, specific evidence is needed to evaluate this argument.

Firstly, there needs to circumstantial evidence to support the fact the new supplier of alpaca wool fabric is reliable. There is a possibility that since, there were difficulties in obtaining the high quality wool fabric, suppliers have found ways to mix the alpaca wool with certain substances such as sheep wool, synthetic wool. Even though the difference in quality of the wool may not be visible to the naïve buyers, experienced buyers would be able to understand this difference. Not only this, as soon as the word spreads out that the quality of wool used in manufacturing the overcoats is not that good, buyers might get reluctant to buy overcoats.

Secondly, the vice president needs to support the argument using the evidence that the alpaca overcoats are still in fashion and demand. Maybe in the last 5 years, the general fashion has shift from alpaca wool to some different kind of wool. There is no evidence for the pent-up demand of these overcoats. Perhaps, the people are no longer interested in spending money on the wool products because other substitutes that might have taken place in the last 5 years. It is highly likely that people have grown more aware of the animal abuse and the animal rights because of which, people are avoiding animal based products altogether. In that case, there would lesser demands for the alpaca overcoats which is contrary to the vice president’s assumption.

Finally, there needs to evidence supporting the fact that profits will actually increase. The vice president assumes the profits will increase because the people would pay significantly higher amounts for the alpaca overcoats as cost most of the other types of clothing has also increased. Maybe, the price of the coat is higher but it is possible that the cost of making the coat as also increased. Perhaps, the alpaca wool has become expensive over the last 5 years due to the fact that there is limited availability. This would mean that the cost of processing the wool and manufacturing the coat would also increase, but might reduce the profits made per coat. So, it is imperative that there should be evidence to make sure the profits remain intact.

In conclusion, the argument stated above is significantly flawed due to the lack of evidence of certain factors as stated above. There are a number of variables that need to be examined before the alpaca overcoats’ production are resumed. Furthermore, if the company is able to generate evidence on the above stated points based on a systemic study, then perhaps it will be completely possible to evaluate the production of alpaca wool based overcoats.