People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Glancing back through modern history, one will undoubtedly notice that many remarkable changes have been sparked by people questioning the rules of authority. One might argue that the outcomes of these changes have weighed on both the good and bad side of human history and that questioning authority can be wrong or dangerous. But it is not the questioning of authority that caused these end results; it is the action of the people involved. Questioning the rules of authority only reveals the necessity for change within an established institution. Thus, I strongly agree with the statement that people should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively. The questioning of authority incites necessary social and political change without implying any necessary action.

Take, for example, the formation of the United States of America. For years under British rule citizens in the colonies were unfairly taxed and treated in accordance with British law. Not until some very powerful men questioned British rule and stood up to defend their beliefs did the colonies come to think of themselves as an independent entity. Years later, when released from British rule, their original questioning of the rules of authority led the leaders of the United States to take a different authoritative stance than the British. The United States became a democracy ruled by the people. The questioning of authority not only brought about social change, but also had a strong influence on the shaping of future events. In fact, one of our famous forefathers, Benjamin Franklin, famously quoted that, “It is the first responsibility of every citizen to question authority.”

Similarly, but more extreme, the citizens of France in the 18th century lived under the delusion that their monarchy was ordained by God for many years. These years were filled with hardship, starvation, and greed, where the monarchy and those around them lived untainted palatial lives while their citizens lay hungry in the streets. It was not until the masses came to question the monarchy’s rules that social change was brought about and the government was overthrown. In this instance, however, many radical groups came to power after the monarchy collapsed, each reacting to the harsh rules of the previous authority. Eventually, by continuing to question these rules, the French were able to remove their tyrannical rulers and form a republic.

Some might claim that questioning the rules of authority necessarily implies violent action in the case of civil change; that one cannot exist without the other. This is certainly not the case. Take, for example, Mahatma Gandhi and his fight for India’s independence. His questioning of authority not only inspired others to do so, but also inspired them to affect social change via non-violent protest. The questioning of authority, coupled with moral actions, led to the end of much tyranny and injustice throughout the world all through non-violent means.

This is not to say that I think that this statement is the best course of action in every situation and for every person. There are certain situations in which questioning authority could lead to consequences such as segregation, disorder, and/or a hindrance of progress. Take, for instance, the government of the United States, one with elected officials and a system of established checks and balances. When citizens independently elect their leaders, one must bear in mind that these officials are elected to service the needs of the constituents as a whole. In a system where every person questions each new rule, as the statement implies, political leaders must cater to many different viewpoints, hindering progress. Further, natural divisions arise from people with differing views on the laws, such as Democrats and Republicans. These divisions segregate populations and hinder progress as well.

In essence, I agree with this statement as long as it is not taken to the extreme. One cannot achieve social or political change without questioning the authority, and certainly changes have been necessary in our history and will be necessary in our future. However, certain situations do exist where an entire population adhering strictly to this statement could find itself hindering progress and drawing somewhat arbitrary lines among people.