The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s assumption that because the domestic cheeses is best-selling in the newest store last year and the higher preference for domestic cheeses in the survey, the best way to improve profits is to stop stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and focus primarily on domestic cheeses is unreasonable. Some questions are needed to be concerned.

To begin with, the author claims that domestic cheeses were more popular than imported chesses because all of best-selling cheeses were domestic cheeses. However, this assumption is unwarranted, since things rarely remain the same over extended period of time. There are all kinds of difference between this year and last year. For example, as newest store had promotion of domestic cheeses last year, residents went to store for panic buying. Or economic depression this year will cause lower sales than last year. Any of these questions, if do not take, would serve to undermine the claim that domestic cheeses were more popular than imported cheeses.

Further, the author relies on report by the cheeses of the world magazine to suggest that the preference for domestic cheeses is increasing. However, the report has a question: lacking the exactly number of people attending the survey. To specifically, cheeses of the world magazine might only invite 100 people to finish his or her investigation while there are more than ten thousand among its subscribers. Then, their feedback cannot represent the rest of subscribers since they might be just a minority group.

Even if the report by the cheeses of the world magazine is reliable, there are another question should be considered. The author’s conclusion that the best way to improve profit is to give up stocking many of our imported cheese and focus on domestic cheeses is unwarranted. Profit is relating to not only revenue but also cost. It’s entirely possible that the revenue will decrease because people lack selection, and this is also a finite way to save the cost. Besides, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent the company from as profitable as the argument predicts.

To sum up, if author can explain some questions, including financial condition difference between last year and this year, the exactly number of people attending the survey, and possible factors that will undermine the predicts, the recommendation will be more reasonable.