The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five

The abovementioned argument says that the store should discontinue stocking of varieties of imported cheese and focus on domestic cheese, based on the sales record of one store and report of a survey conducted by a magazine. However, this argument is based on multiple stated as well as unstated assumptions, which are prone to be unwarranted. As a result, the argument is vulnerable to fallacy.

First assumption is that if all domestic cheeses fall in five best selling cheeses, total quantity of domestic cheese sold is more than total quantity of imported cheese sold in the year. There can be plethora of varieties of imported cheese and only a few varieties of domestic cheese. Hence, total quantity of cheese sold maybe more for imported cheese compared to domestic.

Further, the argument considers the newly opened store as respresentative of whole market chain owned by the company. Consumer preference cannot be generalized in this way. There can be multiple factors responsible for the consumer behavior regarding cheese purchase. It is possible that the consumers does not know about availability of imported cheese in the specified shop. It is also possible that consumers of that locality have rumors regarding imported cheese and have bought domestic cheese.

Third assumption on the argument is that the preference of its subscribers as mentioned certain newspaper can not always represent preference of general costumer regarding cheese purchase. In this case, few people highly preferential to one type of cheese may have voted and not the general public. Small population of these people can change the results of poll overnight overshadowing large population of inactive non preferential buys who may be interesting in purchase of imported cheese. Further, certain domestic cheese producer may have altered the result either by motivating its staff, dealers, retailers and consumers to vote or by paying large amount of money to the newspaper.

These assumptions, when prove unwarranted, will make new policy obsolete. Consumers who are preferential to imported cheese will start purchasing from other store chains, and eventually decrease total sale of store chain.