The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

The memo above mentioned from the owner of cheese stores which are located throughout Unites States. He came to the conclusion that to get maximum profit is to discontinue stocking foreign cheeses while stocking domestic cheeses from last year sales of newest store in Wisconsin and from the World Magazine Survey which tells us domestic cheese is preferred to imported cheeses. The conclusion he reached from the information above is preposterous, ill-found and does not have enough support material.

First, one of the evidences provides is from a new store located in Wisconsin. As in the memo it is a new store and it only has data from one year. How can the owner say that people of Wisconsin is same as other people in United States where all his majority of stores are located. The preference of people of Wisconsin need not be same as all other customers, maybe they prefer foreign to domestic cheese. The owner came to the conclusion without taking his other stores into consideration. Owner did not consider the number of people who bought the cheese in Wisconsin with other stores because the number of people who bought the cheese from other stores may be more, if he reduce foreign cheese inventory he may lose profit. This could be applied as a consideration to new business model to improve profits if at least 10 percent of his stores picked at random are taken into consideration.

Second, The survey of World Magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Owner did not consider Are the people who subscribed are his customers or not. If yes, How many out of Total. The memo did not mention that the survey is only conducted in USA, it could be from the people worldwide, so owner could not that this into consideration. The survey says that preference for domestic cheese increased but by how much out of how many people? If it is in USA and the percentage is greater than 20 percent the owner can add it into one of the reasons to get profit is by improving domestic inventory.

Third, the conclusion reached by owner to reduce inventory of foreign cheeses to reduce expenditure of company is not supported because the profit earned by owner from foreign cheese may be greater as it is being imported and domestic definitely cost less. Owner could test his prediction in some of his stores then he can apply to all of the remaining stores such that he would not lose all of the income as even if it fails only some of the stores takes a hit but he could recover from the remaining stores and get the result.

The owner's conclusion from the argument is not practical because of the above reasons. He could earn maximum profit if he did a better research on his income from his stores and by conducting a survey in his stores to know the preference of his customers instead of taking World Magazine's survey into consideration.