The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that they should concentrate on domestic cheese instead of stocking imposed cheese. The author supports his argument on the basis of the report from the survey, conducted by the Cheeses of the world magazine, that indicates the rising preference of domestic cheese among its subscribers. The author also uses the reports form the newest stores to support his argument. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author uses circumstances from one thing to predict and generalise the others. In other words, the author uses the results from the newest stores to conclude about the rest of the other stores. There is a possibility that the newest stores are in the northeastern part of the United States, where most of the people like cheddar cheeses. Customers of the stores in other parts of United States may not like the Cheddar cheese or they may prefer imported cheeses over any kind of domestic cheese. The author does not provide any admissible evidence to justify his claim, that based upon the customers in the newly established stores. The author is also unable to provide any necessitate evidence about certain unstated argument such as the number of newly established stores. If, over the past few years only 3 new stores were established then, concluding about some fact on the basis of a very small sample size is seriously unwarranted. If the author is able to provide any justifiable evidence to support his argument, then, the author’s argument may have sound warranted. If the author is able to provide any informations about the stores from every region or the customer's preferences from different region of United States, then the author’s argument will be strengthened.

Secondly, the author supports his argument on the basis of the survey, conducted by the Cheeses go world magazine, but fails to provide any veritable evidence to justify the type of survey. A reader may ask questions regarding the authenticity of the survey. The author provides no perusable information about the survey, such as about the sample size of the survey, time of the survey, etc. There is a feasibility that may be only 3000 people over southern parts of United States were reported to the survey. Concluding something about the whole nation based upon a very small sample size from some particular region is most likely gratuitous. If the above case is true, then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author’s argument is not persuasive, it can become more admissible if the author is able to offer some information, perhaps in the form of statistical data chart regarding the survey.

Thirdly, the author suggests that by limiting inventory and restricting stocking many of the varieties of imported cheese, they will enhance the profitability without providing any evidence. There is a possibility that most of the stores in some parts of United States, where most of the customers are form other countries, will not be so lucrative if they stop providing all kind of cheese including imported cheese since people form other country may prefer imported cheese. The author argues that limiting inventory will increase the remunerative of the stores without any evidence. The plan may back fire. Due to short supply and unavailability of various kind of cheese people may not want to visit the stores any more. Maybe imported cheese is more costly than domestic cheese, then impeding imported cheese may cause declining profit rather than mounting. IF the author is able to provide sufficient information regarding his proposed suggestion, then a reader may have elucidate knowledge about the proposed recommendation. The missing information and data must be included in order to rectify the flaw and strengthen the argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument as it is stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three undated assumptions above and offers more evidence (perhaps in the form of systemic research study), then, it is possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that shifting to all-domestic cheese from the imported cheeses will enhance the profit.