The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States. "For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claimed in the memo asserts that the cheese store chain should discontinue stocking a plethora of varieties of imported cheese so as to improve profits. It may seem convincing at first glance, however, there is a dearth of actual facts and evidence to foster the argument which cannot appropriately justify the argument. Before hastily adopting the conclusion drawn in the memo, it is needed to scrutinize the fact and evidence that the author of the argument suggests.

First and foremost, the argument is based on the fact that the five best-selling cheeses at newest store were domestic in previous year. Although these cheeses were popular at the newest store in last year, there is no reason to believe that they would continue to do sales of the same magnitude in the coming year, which means it could be temporary popularity. Furthermore, considering the stores throughout the United States, the sales data of newest store that the author adduces does not cover the range wide enough to derive the conclusion. Thus, the argument of the author suggests is narrow in scope and myopic. To strengthen the opinion, the author needs to provide accurate projection based on sales data of entire chain of cheese stores in the long run.

Second, the author maintains his opinion without detailed survey data stating either the number or the pattern of preferences of the subscribers that participated in the survey. In addition, given that the survey is conducted among the subscribers of the magazine, not the customers of stores, it is not plausible to deem that the preference of subscribers could also be consistent with or extend to the actual purchase behavior of the customer. Therefore, if the author suggests the result of poll through conducting among the customers of stores, it could authenticate the contention of the author.

Finally, without the detailed evidence that demonstrates the excessive expense of maintenance and administration, the author should not rashly conclude that discontinuing stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese could improve profits. As imported cheeses are already packaged stably to preserve in the long run, the expense of stocking of imported cheese could be minute. Rather, it is possible that the maintenance and administration expense of the domestic cheese would be large enough to have adverse effect to the profit.

In conclusion, the argument cannot be validated until suggesting the sound and detailed evidence as mentioned above. Otherwise, because of these superficial and perfunctory evidences, the profit of chain of cheese stores could be worse than before.