People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Attitude of people can be defined as how a person behaves and interacts with the others, considering their sensitivity, surroundings and variety of social aspects. Thus, one can understand that someone’s attitude is a mixture of plethora of factors that have influenced to him or her. Given this property of attitude, some argue that attitudes are determined by the immediate situations or surroundings, whereas some assert that primary factor of causation of attitude is the impact of society that he or she belongs to. Apparently, both arguments seem plausible, however, I agree that the immediate situations or surroundings have a greater influence on people’s attitude.

Admittedly, as mentioned above, society functions a pivotal role in people’s attitude by regulating and subsidizing their current conditions. Through conducting the campaign about recycling, for example, society control the attitude of people about environments and induce people to have more discreet attitude with wastes. What happens in the society affects people even if the occurrence of an event doesn't impact people directly. Therefore, people’s attitudes are indeed affected by acts in society.

Nevertheless, the aforementioned reason does not warrant that the immediate situations or surroundings have a lesser effects on people’s attitude. Although people are willing to change their attitude by the atmosphere of society, they determine their attitude based on the current condition of their situation. From the example above, someone could decide to remain constant because there are still a number of wastes near one’s society or he or she has no time to recycle. In addition, the situation people are placed in has a much significant impact on their lives, because they have a tremendous effect on their feelings. Emotions change constantly, at every moment, and they are the driving forces one's attitudes.

Moreover, what or who people surrounded with also has great influence as the attitude is defined as how a person interacts with others. If people are raised in a loving household and surrounded with positive friends, it is highly likely that they will retain a sanguine outlook on life, and be more cordial to others. Familial background or people that someone interacts with are important because it is the main element that forms people's perspectives, characteristics, and their attitudes. It lives with them forever.

In conclusion, even though society does play a crucial role in people's attitudes, it has a less influence than immediate situation or surroundings. Though someone’s attitude is a mixture of every factor that have affected to him or her, the immediate situations or surroundings have a greater influence on people’s attitude.