The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States."For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the owner argues that all of the cheese stores throughout the U.S. should deal primarily with domestic cheese rather than imported ones. In spite of the fact that the argument may seem to convict at first, the lack of evidence leads me to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the author needs to provide solid evidence that the five best-selling cheese at their newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. it is plausible that the best five kinds of cheese take only a minute portion of all of the cheeses they sell. To be specific, they may sell numerous kinds of cheeses and many of them may take a similar portion of their selling. therefore, it could meaningless to compare the selling portion of the items each other.

On top of that, more concrete pieces of information are needed on a recent survey by cheeses of the World magazine which shows an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. There are no specific data of subscribers with regard to their actual numbers nor their influence on cheese consuming market, we can not tell the survey is the information we can rely on. In the worst case, imported ones are preferable in the market than the domestic ones.

For the last, the author also needs to provide clear evidence that discontinuing stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese can improve profits in all of their stores. it is possible that most of the imported cheeses are lucrative so its profit per selling one cheese is higher than domestic ones. If so, they not only do not have to spend much budget to store a number of imported cheeses in their stores, but they also attract consumers who want to buy imported ones.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. therefore, the author has to provide more solid and specified shreds of evidence in order to make the memo much more persuasive.