People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In spite of the fact that humanity can live with more egalitarian society when they consider that their attitude and behavior have enough power to make a better world, most of the people consider only themselves or nearby situation in the most cases in their lives. A person who can think of society as a whole beyond their immediate needs and done several great works has been honored as a holy man even they had been considered as an evil, in his times.

To begin with, although there are a number of countries in the world, they have a similar and common social system they can share. These are laws and codes that needed to maintain a society unless members of society are capable of considering society as a whole whenever they make decisions. It is quite obvious that society would have been economically developed assuming that every member makes a decision as an egalitarian. Nonetheless, there are many historical and academical evidence show people are selfish and determine their decision only based on the circumstance they encounter. Communism was failed due to the fact that the planner of the society did not take account of egotism among humanity. Behavioral Economics might not be even developed unless nature of humanity was not selfish. The first chapter of modern Economics shows humanity’s self-centeredness as an accelerator of provoking economical activities and it actually facilitate as so in the real world indeed.

On top of that, mankind always has been struggled with countless disputes each other in forms of wars and diplomatic disputes. Any kinds of wars have been justified by leadership that the war is inevitable for the sake of the country or human right. However, the most significant value of the wars was based on their communities’ or personal interests. For instance, Trade War between the United States and China has been continued for a few years and both of the countries only care about their interests. However, not only the war brings about mutual economical regression between both of the countries, but it also makes the entire world’s economy suffered from it. There must be tons of ways to negotiate and conclude the war as a way to benefiting all of them. The problem is that they only care about their interests right in front of them and this may lead to the degeneration.

To summarize, although modern people live in society economically and socially developed since the dawn of man, short-sighted attitudes and behavior generate a number of struggles and regression that tease them. Therefore, it is necessary for them to cultivate see the world and make decisions with more broad eyes in order to make better world.