The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the vice president of Alta Manufacturing, it is concluded that reducing shifting time by one hour in each 3 shifts will reduce the on-the-job catastrophes in the workplace. The conclusion is based on the fact that reducing work hours will enable the workers to get sufficient time to sleep. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three specific questions need to be answered.

To begin, does the total number of accidents that happened in Alta Manufacturing correspond to the total number of accidents at Panoply Industries? In other words, does the higher percentage indicate higher number of accidents? It may be possible that total number of tasks that have been performed in Alta is many fold than the number of tasks completed by Panoply. Perhaps, in a week Alta faces only 50 accidents in 10000 different tasks and in contrast, the Panoply confronts 30 accidents in 1000 tasks. If any of the above points gets merits, the conclusion will be seriously weakened.

Secondly, is the relationship between sleeping hour and number of job accidents related? The vice president of Alta Manufacturing prematurely assumes that lesser sleeping hour is attributed to the higher percentage of accidents. Perhaps, Alta manufacturing does not teach the newly appointed employees about the operating procedures of the machines and that's why frequent accidents are occurred for past few days. Besides, it may be possible that the Panoply industries don't have the same infrastructure and machines kindred to the Alta manufacturing. If any of the above becomes true, the argument does not hold water.

Last but not the least, will additional sleeping hours really decrease the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta? A sudden drop in working hours will force the employees to complete the same amount of tasks in a shorter time. Workers have to increase their productivity and work swiftly to reach the target outputs. By doing jobs in a hurry, it may be possible that the number of accidents even rise twice or thrice than the current number. If this point comes to light, the recommendation of the vice president will be collapsed and there will be no scope to further evaluate his recommendation.

To summarize, the argument, as it stands now is seriously flawed because of its' reliance on too many unwarranted assumptions. Hence, the vice president needs to provide answers to all these three questions as discussed in the above writing and present evidence (preferably in a systematic research form) to make his argument reasonable and to evaluate his recommendation.